Applause - August 13, 2018

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff
KJ Severin of Woodinville earned a Bachelor of Arts degree Summa Cum Laude in Gender Studies and German from Lawrence University (Appleton, WI).   Severin also was elected to Lawrence’s chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, the oldest honorary society in America.
MaryKate White of Bothell graduated from Stevenson University (Owings Mills, MD) on May 17, 2018.
Marie Haaland of Bothell graduated from Hofstra University (Hempstead, NY) in May 2018, earning a Bachelor of Arts in Journalism.
Yehan Zhou of Kenmore graduated from the University at Albany (Albany, NY) with a Master of Science in Educational Psychology & Methodology with the Class of 2018.
Cameron Pauly, from Bothell and a member of the Colgate University (Hamilton, NY) Class of 2019, has earned the spring 2018 Dean’s Award for Academic Excellence.
The following students have been named to the Scholastic Honor Roll spring term 2018 by Oregon State University (Corvallis, Ore.):
From Bothell: Lauren N. Bickhaus, Emily A. Brackett, Rebecca M. Crawford, Jazmyn A. Crouch, Jenna L. Galvagno, Trevor D. Peterson, Oren Shalev Williams
From Woodinville: Chloe A. Hall, Rebecca E. Ledsham

Local clarinetist plays overseas

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff
Tammy Preuss, clarinetist and Woodinville resident, toured with the Tacoma Concert Band in Scotland and Ireland recently. The band played at Stirling Castle in Scotland, the National Concert Hall in Dublin, and churches in Limerick and Cork.  The group competed in the South of Ireland Band Championships on July 6th in Clonakilty where it won the top prize in the Senior Division as well as Best Brass Section and Best Original Concert Piece.  In winning the top prize, the band received a ride around town in a motorized train.

Applause - July 30, 2018

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff
The following students were listed on the Spokane Falls Community College (Spokane, Wash.) honor roll: Kelsey Brobeck of Bothell and Susan Hight of Kenmore
Zeos Greene and Siri Mellem, both of Woodinville, earned Dean's List honors at St. Olaf College in Northfield, Minn.
Western Washington University student Breaker Chittenden, son of Jeffrey and Holly Chittenden of Duvall, received the $1,500 Leadership Advantage Annual Scholarship for the 2018-2019 academic year.
The Leadership Advantage Annual Scholarship provides support for leadership scholarships to students from diverse backgrounds.
Chittenden graduated from PARADE (Parents & Riverview Actively Delivering Education) alternative school in 2018.
Woodinville High School Juniors, Joseph Collora and Rand Mattis represented Washington State and won 6th Place in 2018 FBLA National Leadership Conference 3-D Animation Award of Excellence in Baltimore, Maryland.    FBLA National Award Program, commonly called competitive events, recognizes and rewards academic excellence in broad range of business and career-related areas.

Applause - July 23, 2018

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff
Tiffany Cummings of Bothell graduated with a MS-Geology from East Carolina University (Greenville, NC) during spring commencement exercises.
Julia Maxine Howard of Kenmore, has received the following from The University of Alabama (Tuscaloosa, AL): BS in Athletic Training.
The following Woodinville residents have received their degree from Western Governors University (WGU):  Anne Price - Bachelor of Arts in Interdisciplinary Studies (K-8) degree, Ashley Clauson - Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree, Hannah Slominski - Master of Science in Curriculum and Instruction degree, Kristie Miller - Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree, Michelle Toi - Bachelor of Science in Business Management degree, Laurel Roberts - Master of Education in Instructional Design degree.

Applause 7/16/18

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff
The following local students were among the 1,561 Montana State University (Bozeman) undergraduates who received diplomas during MSU's 2018 spring commencement ceremony held May 5:
Bothell: Austin Davis, Karanbir Malhi
Duvall: Zachary Schutte
Kenmore: Julia Houghton
Woodinville: Catherine Fernandez (with honors)
Dean's List
Allee Hilton of Woodinville has earned Dean's List accolades at the University of Montana Western (Dillon, MT) for the entire 2017/2018 school year.
Alyx Farris of Bothell, has been named to the Knox College (Galesburg, IL) Dean's List of distinguished students for the 2018 Spring Term.
Ali McAllister-Day of Bothell has been named to the Dean's List at the University of New Hampshire (Durham, NH) for earning Honors for the spring 2018 semester.
The following students earned Dean’s List recognition at Eastern Washington University in Cheney, Wash. for the Spring 2018 Quarter.
Bothell: Jared Berry, Carl Christensen, Luisa Costanza, Cecil D’Souza, Makenzie Ley, Samuel McPherson, Emily Simmons, Madison Sires, Sydney Thompson, Tiffany Van Eaton, Jessica Zemp
Duvall: George Hebard, Jaclyn Ward, Trevor Zakrajsek
Kenmore: Carrie Cutler, Tyler Furnish, Cameron Miller, Kathleen Mohn, Sydney Perrigoue, Jennifer Richardson, David Sergio
Woodinville: Jacob Andrews, Tyler Davis, Eric Fueng, Brandon Janshen, Alek Kacmarcik, Taryn Knopf, Valerie Landguth, Benjamin Sander, Mackenzie Vigil