Applause - July 22, 2019

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff
Whitworth University
David Hendricks, Courtney Ho, Matthew Meyer, Benjamin Michael, Kelly Wucherer
Rochester Institute of Technology
Rebecca Brown
Gonzaga University
Jazmine Alvarez, Daniel Fredrickson, Jacob Gordon,  Matthew Gregory,  Christopher Grothkopp,  Maxwell McKee,  Zackery Oates,  Joanne Raymond,  Alexander Reding, Grace Shaw,  Taylor Vo and Eric Zander
Pacific University (Ore.)
Natalie Hinds
University of Northern Colorado
Matthew Zoba
Purchase College
Julia Koyfman

Bothell Native Enters Class of 2023 Plebe Summer at The U.S. Naval Academy

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff
Faith Brooks, a graduate of Bothell High School was inducted into the Naval Academy Class of 2023 Thursday, June 27, and will begin six challenging weeks of basic midshipman training as part of Plebe Summer.
Approximately 1,200 candidates are selected each year for the Academy’s “plebe” or freshman class, and each student is required to participate in Plebe Summer. Last year the Naval Academy received over 16,000 applications for the Class of 2022.
The pressure and rigor of Plebe Summer is carefully designed to help plebes prepare for their first academic year at the Naval Academy and the four years of challenge, which awaits them.

Applause - July 1, 2019

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff
Central Washington
Adam Harris Hasenyager, Cort Hoffman, Holly Ann Leaper, Katie Taylor May, Spencer John Read and Samuel  Viebrock
Baylor University
Meghan J McCahill
Washington State
Harrison Scott Adams, Krista Adams, Jake Eric Allen, Mackenzie Taylor Ault, Lauren Eileen Baccus, Jennifer Elyse Beyer, Matthew Walker Brady, Ronald Jarred Bruce, Matthew C Bumpus, Amanda Marie Cargill, Benjamin R Davies, Tyler J Dickey, Logan Charles Dziuk,Nick Fazio, Averly Brooke Gerber, Parker A Guillen, Mary J Hilker, Claire Cornish Jacobsen, James Stanley Jessen, Mee Jin Kim, Chloe Grace Lingen, Dante Jacob Ludlow, McKenzie Jacquelyn Malloy, Arianna Marie Mattis, Catherine Rorvik McMillan, Becca Elizabeth Mischke, Jack William Nagel, Philip James Palm, Emily Lynn Paratore, Kate Perkins, Sean Michael Roberts, Amanda Rodewald, Andrus McLean Romman, Brandon David Salisbury, Riley L Shipps, Connor Alan Spores, Sean Micheal Thompson, Brianna Hope VanderWeide, Michael Andrew Walsh, Katie June Webb, Anna Marie Willie, Sara Elina Willie, Nicholette Marie Wooten, Mantz Joseph Wyrick and Haokun Zhang
Gonzaga University
Jazmine Alvarez, Kara Borjeson, Jacob Gordon, Leah Matthews,  Zachary McKee, Zackery Oates,  Jason Paratore, Grace Shaw, Katrina Springer, Gabrielle Stefanzick, Gina Svab, Carolina Waughman and Matthew Welte
Gonzaga Univeristy
Emily Arnesen, Laura Baddeley,  Brendan Bogel, Daniel Fredrickson, Andrew Hall, Ariana Hibbard, Dillon Hoopes, Maxwell McKee, Elizabeth Merdgen, Caroline Sonnen and Eric Zander

May Student of the Month

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff
vidhi may student of the month(Courtesy photo)
The Woodinville Chamber is pleased to announce the recipient of the 2019 Woodinville Chamber Business Scholarship, in partnership with the Scholarship Foundation of Northshore, Vidhi Agrawal.
Vidhi recently graduated from Woodinville High School and will be attending the University of Washington in the fall. The Chamber awards this annual scholarship as an investment in the future business leaders, entrepreneurs and innovators of our community.
In addition, Vidhi was recognized as our May 2019 Student of the Month, sponsored by The Scholarship Foundation of Northshore.

National History Day

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff
NHD photo
Northshore Middle School eighth grader Andrew Da placed second at the National History Day competition for his paper titled “Raising the Flag in Iwo Jima: Triumph Rising from Tragedy.” Nationals was held June 9-13 at the University of Maryland, College Park.
Four other Northshore School District students participated at nationals. Northshore Middle School Teacher, Alan Plummer also received a Teacher of Distinction award from the Naval Historical Foundation.