Additional National Merit semifinalists

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff

Last week we published a story listing the National Merit semifinalists in our reading area.  We inadvertently missed the following students from that list and would like to recognize them now.  Congratulations to all the students!

From Bothell High School:  Kyrie Dowling, Vikram Gill, Maxwell Packer, & Clayton Thomas; From Providence Classical Christian School: Jeannine Brokaw; and from Woodinville Montessori School: Anisha Chutani.


Applause 10/2/17

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff

WSU Summer Honor Roll 

The following students from Washington State University (Pullman) have earned recognition on the President’s Honor Roll  for the summer semester.  To be eligible for the honor roll, undergraduate students must be enrolled in a minimum of nine graded hours in a single term and earn a grade point average of 3.75 or earn a 3.50 cumulative GPA based on 15 cumulative hours of graded work.

From Bothell:
Colleen Byrne, Monika Cewe, Kendrick Griffin, Dusten Jacobs, Stephanie Johnstone, Angelica Resurreccion, Kiara Seguine, and Allison Vick. 

From Woodinville:
Cole Bonvallet, Hailey Chapman, Mitchell Donnan, Casie Helgeson, Alex Lukin, Julia McMichael, Jacob Morrison, McKenna Palmer, Derek Quist, and Andrus Romman.

Applause 09/18/17

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff


Hannah Bolotin, daughter of Christine Laing and Norm Bolotin, has been named to the Dean’s List for Fall 2016 at Wesleyan University in Middletown, Conn. To be eligible, students must have earned a minimum GPA of 93.35 (3.7/4.0). Hannah is a 2015 graduate of Woodinville High School.


Ashley McNeil of Woodinville was named Georgia State University Student Innovation Fellow for the 2017-18 academic year.  McNeil is majoring in English at Georgia State in Atlanta.
Student Innovation Fellows develop expertise and share ideas around emerging technologies and instructional innovations, with particular attention to enhancing learning and research at Georgia State through the innovative use of technology. Through the program, students collaborate with university faculty and staff.


student 2Students in photograph -  Ella Campos, Eliana Ingram, Tyler Stodola, Bodhi Booth, Hamish Whelan and Danica SheehanCongratulations to the Graduation Class of 2017 from Cottage Lake Montessori.  Six amazing students graduated and will be starting in public school this fall.

Applause 09/04/17

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff


The following students have been named to the Central Washington University’s Summer Quarter honor roll.
From Bothell: Daniel Ross Kaner; Parker Sean Eggerling, Natasha Ann Humphrey, and Brenda
From Woodinville: Austin Komlodi


Lauren Williams, solopreneur founder of Casual Uncluttering LLC, incorporated October 13, 2011, is gratified to announce that she earned her designation of Certified Professional Organizer® from the Board of the National Association of Productivity and Organiz-ing Professionals (NAPO) on July 1, 2017. Williams is one of only nine CPOs in Wash. among 318 in the US. Fewer than 10% of all NAPO members have earned this status.

Williams has worked with more than 200 clients, clocking over 1,500 hours perfecting her craft, in a combination of paid, volunteer, continuing education and speaking and writing efforts. She has worked with clients aged 8 to 80, in every space in a home from basement to attic, home office, home-based business office, garage, shed and even a horse barn.
For more information, please call Lauren Williams    at 425-435-6528 or email her at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Cascadia College Board of Trustees Welcomes Roy Captain 

Washington state Gov. Jay Inslee appointed Roy Captain to Cascadia College’s Board of Trustees. Captain’s term is effective July 31, 2017 through September 20, 2021.
Captain, who lives in Redmond, has 25 years of experience in real estate, running global companies and extensive school and community volunteering in Washington.

Captain has served multiple terms as President of the Audubon Elementary School Parent Teacher Student Association and was the Kirkland area Vice President in the Lake Washington School District PTSA.  He is currently the Vice Chair of Redmond’s Planning Commission.

“Roy brings a breadth of experience and knowledge to Cascadia,” says Cascadia College President Eric Murray. “His background as an immigrant, his success in the private sector, and his passion for education and community service will greatly contribute to the college’s future endeavors.”

Captain joins Mike Kelly of ASKO Processing, Inc., Nancee Hofmeister of EvergreenHealth, Janet McDaniel  of  PEMCO,  and  Dr. Julie Miller, small business owner, on Cascadia’s five-member board.

Applause 8/28/17

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff

Ellen McCaw of Woodinville was selected for Mortar Board at University of San Diego. Mortar Board is a national honor society recognizing students for outstanding achievement in scholarship, leadership, and service. McCaw is majoring in Accounting and expects to graduate in Spring 2018.

The board of directors and staff of the Northshore Youth Soccer Association (NYSA), along with their teammates and coaches, want to extend best wishes to this year’s scholarship winners as they begin their fall classes.
Recipients were: Woodinville High School graduate, Ashley Driscoll, attending Western Washington University, in the Elementary Education program ($1,000 award); Bothell High School graduate, Bethany Vandiwort, attending Grand Canyon University, studying sports medicine ($500 award); Bothell High School graduate, Marissa Rowley, attending University of Portland, in the Secondary Education program ($1,000 award); and, Monroe High School graduate, Jessica Workman, attending Western Washington University, studying biology ($500 award.)