Menu

State Parks announces free day March 19

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff

Washington State Parks invites visitors to help celebrate the agency’s 106th birthday on Tuesday, March 19, by enjoying a state park for free that day.  

March 19 is the third of 12 State Parks free day in 2019, when visitors are not required to display the Discover Pass for day-use visits to a park.

The free days are in keeping with legislation that created the Discover Pass, which costs $30 for an annual pass or $10 for a one-day pass and is required for vehicle access to state recreation lands managed by Washington State Parks, the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) and the Department of Natural Resources (DNR). The Discover Pass legislation provided that State Parks could designate up to 12 free days when the pass would not be required to visit state parks. The free days apply only at state parks; the Discover Pass is still required on WDFW and DNR lands.

The remaining 2019 State Parks free days are:
Saturday, April 20 — Springtime free day
Monday, April 22 — Earth Day
Saturday, June 1 — National Trails Day
Saturday, June 8 — National Get Outdoors Day
Sunday, June 9 — Free Fishing Day
Sunday, Aug. 25 — National Park Service Birthday
Saturday, Sept. 28 — National Public Lands Day
Monday, Nov. 11 — Veterans Day
Friday, Nov. 29 — Autumn free day

The Discover Pass provides daytime access to parks. Overnight visitors in state parks are charged fees for camping and other overnight accommodations; day access is included in the overnight fee. For information about Discover Pass, visit www.DiscoverPass.wa.gov.

Note: State Parks free days do not apply to Sno-Parks
For more information about winter recreation permit requirements, visit: parks.state.wa.us/winter.

Share this post

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to Twitter