Civic Campus Agreement Signed at Woodinville City Council Meeting

  • Written by Kara Roth

The Woodinville City Council selected the newest member to the new Public Spaces Commission at the Council meeting on April 2.  In the interest of transparency, the four candidates for the one open position on the Public Spaces Commission were interviewed during the meeting.  Candidates were asked to step out into the lobby and then were interviewed one by one, each asked the same or similar question by council members.  The council then deliberated during the meeting and decided to select Jane Barrell Yadav as the newest member for the commission.  This newly created commission advises the City Council on public spaces including parks, art, trees, recreation and other public areas. 

The council also approved the joint use, maintenance and operating agreement for the Woodinville Civic Council.  With the approval, the project is now able to move forward with the ground breaking scheduled for later this spring.  The city will hold an open house on Tuesday, April 9 from 5-6:30 pm to give the community an opportunity to ask questions, see the construction timelines and the impacts to surrounding area.  

The council also approved a settlement agreement with King County in regards to the roundabout at NE 171st Street and 135th Ave NE.  The settlement outlines the process the city must complete to remedy the amount of agricultural land that was intruded on by the roundabout.  The city must procure a similar parcel size in the agriculture production district and dedicate it to agricultural purposes.  The roundabout will then be annexed into the city  boundaries.  Several acceptable parcels have been identified and the city will now move forward with meeting the requirements of the settlement. 

Mayor Elaine Cook then addressed some of the council committee assignments, seeking to change the council liaison positions due to changes in the roles of council members. Deputy Mayor Gary Harris was added as the primary liaison to several committees, including Eastside Transportation Partnership, Northshore School District , the Bus Rapid Transit Elected Leadership committee and the I-405/SR 167 Executive Advising Group. Council Member Al Taylor will take over on the Planning Commission for Mayor Cook. 

Share this post

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to Twitter