Young writer recognized

  • Written by Staff
Jillian Olson

The University of Iowa has recognized Woodinville’s Jillian Olson for exceptional work in the Belin-Blank Summer Writing Residency program.
She is one of three high school students nationwide to receive the honor.

"I was so excited to have been chosen for the program. It was amazing to spend the summer with other writers my age, and I learned so much from my professors.”

Olson cited professor Becca Hall as having a profound influence on her life.
The University of Iowa’s writing programs has produced more than 40 Pulitzer Prize winners, seven U.S. Poets Laureate, award-winning playwrights, novelists, journalists, and poets.

Olson now mentors other young writers and plans to study creative writing and screenwriting. Her daily-poetry posts can be found on Instagram @ljf_poems.

Local high school students qualify for Aerospace Scholars residency

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff
BOTHELL — Four Northshore School District students were among more than 200 juniors in Montana, Oregon and Washington to have qualified for phase two of the Western Aerospace Scholars (WAS) Summer Residency.
WAS is an online distance learning course designed for high school sophomores and juniors interested in pursuing science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) pathways through the exploration of space and space travel.
Inglemoor High’s Margaret Guo, Melissa Mitchell and Noah Welikson, along with Jori Piacenza from Bothell High earned the right to advance out of phase one last November after displaying outstanding academic performance in 10 NASA and University of Washington designed lessons.
Read more ...

Applause - July 22, 2019

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff
Whitworth University
David Hendricks, Courtney Ho, Matthew Meyer, Benjamin Michael, Kelly Wucherer
Rochester Institute of Technology
Rebecca Brown
Gonzaga University
Jazmine Alvarez, Daniel Fredrickson, Jacob Gordon,  Matthew Gregory,  Christopher Grothkopp,  Maxwell McKee,  Zackery Oates,  Joanne Raymond,  Alexander Reding, Grace Shaw,  Taylor Vo and Eric Zander
Pacific University (Ore.)
Natalie Hinds
University of Northern Colorado
Matthew Zoba
Purchase College
Julia Koyfman

Bothell Native Enters Class of 2023 Plebe Summer at The U.S. Naval Academy

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff
Faith Brooks, a graduate of Bothell High School was inducted into the Naval Academy Class of 2023 Thursday, June 27, and will begin six challenging weeks of basic midshipman training as part of Plebe Summer.
Approximately 1,200 candidates are selected each year for the Academy’s “plebe” or freshman class, and each student is required to participate in Plebe Summer. Last year the Naval Academy received over 16,000 applications for the Class of 2022.
The pressure and rigor of Plebe Summer is carefully designed to help plebes prepare for their first academic year at the Naval Academy and the four years of challenge, which awaits them.

Applause - July 1, 2019

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff
Central Washington
Adam Harris Hasenyager, Cort Hoffman, Holly Ann Leaper, Katie Taylor May, Spencer John Read and Samuel  Viebrock
Baylor University
Meghan J McCahill
Washington State
Harrison Scott Adams, Krista Adams, Jake Eric Allen, Mackenzie Taylor Ault, Lauren Eileen Baccus, Jennifer Elyse Beyer, Matthew Walker Brady, Ronald Jarred Bruce, Matthew C Bumpus, Amanda Marie Cargill, Benjamin R Davies, Tyler J Dickey, Logan Charles Dziuk,Nick Fazio, Averly Brooke Gerber, Parker A Guillen, Mary J Hilker, Claire Cornish Jacobsen, James Stanley Jessen, Mee Jin Kim, Chloe Grace Lingen, Dante Jacob Ludlow, McKenzie Jacquelyn Malloy, Arianna Marie Mattis, Catherine Rorvik McMillan, Becca Elizabeth Mischke, Jack William Nagel, Philip James Palm, Emily Lynn Paratore, Kate Perkins, Sean Michael Roberts, Amanda Rodewald, Andrus McLean Romman, Brandon David Salisbury, Riley L Shipps, Connor Alan Spores, Sean Micheal Thompson, Brianna Hope VanderWeide, Michael Andrew Walsh, Katie June Webb, Anna Marie Willie, Sara Elina Willie, Nicholette Marie Wooten, Mantz Joseph Wyrick and Haokun Zhang
Gonzaga University
Jazmine Alvarez, Kara Borjeson, Jacob Gordon, Leah Matthews,  Zachary McKee, Zackery Oates,  Jason Paratore, Grace Shaw, Katrina Springer, Gabrielle Stefanzick, Gina Svab, Carolina Waughman and Matthew Welte
Gonzaga Univeristy
Emily Arnesen, Laura Baddeley,  Brendan Bogel, Daniel Fredrickson, Andrew Hall, Ariana Hibbard, Dillon Hoopes, Maxwell McKee, Elizabeth Merdgen, Caroline Sonnen and Eric Zander