Eight Northshore students participating in phase one of the Washington Aerospace Scholars Program

  • Written by Woodinville Weekly Staff

Eight Northshore School District high school juniors are taking part in the Washington Aerospace Scholars (WAS) program. Over the next five months, these students will complete online academic coursework in order to qualify for one of 160 summer residency session slots.

The eight Northshore students are:

Jessy Ha, Bothell High School

Julian Bacon, Inglemoor High School

Alex Bernard, Inglemoor High School

Lilian Liang, Inglemoor High School

Kristin Lie, Inglemoor High School

Ryan Paek, Inglemoor High School

Samuel Reed, Inglemoor High School

Alex Yang, Inglemoor High School

The WAS program is a free, competitive science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education program for Washington state high school juniors.

Its primary goal is to excite and prepare students to pursue careers in STEM fields using a distance-learning curriculum developed in partnership with NASA and the University of Washington.

During the summer residency session, students will be guided by professional engineers, scientists, university students and certified educators as they collaborate to design a human mission to Mars. The students will also take tours of engineering facilities and laboratories, complete team engineering challenges and meet leaders in STEM fields.

Share this post

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to Twitter